CSI Human Resources



Faculty Senate Constitution

Article I (Identification and Purpose)
1. The Faculty Senate is a voluntary, collegial association of the faculty of the College of Southern Idaho, and is recognized by the College as the voice of that faculty.

2. The Faculty Senate provides a forum for faculty concerns and renders the majority opinion of participating faculty to the administration and to the Board of Trustees of the College on matters brought before it by its membership, the administration or the Board.

Article II (Membership)
The membership of the Faculty Senate is specified in the Faculty Senate By-Laws.
Article III (Executive Committee)
1. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee considers all faculty concerns that are brought before it.  It also serves as liaison between the Faculty Senate membership and the administration and Board of Trustees.

2. Dismissal of any Executive Committee member requires the affirmative vote of a majority (more than fifty percent) of the membership of the Faculty Senate.

Article IV (Rank Committee)
The Rank Committee consists of five voting members chosen from senior faculty: two professional-technical, two academic and one at-large.

Article V (Meetings)
1. The conduct of business at a meeting of the Faculty Senate requires a quorum of members, as specified in the By-laws.

2. There shall be at least one meeting each semester held during the faculty in-service session.

3. Additional meetings may be called by the President of the Senate as laid out in the Faculty Senate By-Laws.

4. Additional meetings may also be called by petition from at least ten percent of the membership. Upon receipt of such a petition, the Senate President must immediately call a meeting to be held within one calendar week.

Article VI (Revisions)
1. This Constitution may be changed by the affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of the membership.

2. The Faculty Senate may adopt, remove, or change By-Laws to this Constitution by the affirmative vote of a majority of the members present and voting at a meeting or a majority of ballots returned with a mail ballot vote.

Faculty Senate By-Laws

All full-time and part-time faculty serving under a faculty contract (as determined by the appropriate instructional dean or the Executive Vice President /Chief Academic Officer) are members of the Faculty Senate, hereinafter referred to as the Senate.

Elected Committees
1. The Executive Committee consists of nine Senate members.  At its last meeting of the calendar year, it selects from itself a Chair, Secretary and Chair-elect to serve through the following calendar year.

     The Chair serves as President of the Senate and may schedule regular meetings of that body or call special meetings by announcement disseminated to all Senate members with at least five working days’ notice (except as provided in Article V, Paragraph 4a of the Faculty Senate Constitution).  The Secretary serves as Secretary of the Senate.  The Chair-elect will participate in all activities of the current Chair for one year and will then become the FSEC Chair the following year. The Chair-elect must be an Executive committee member with at least two years of service remaining. Other duties of the Chair and the Secretary are determined by the Executive Committee.

    The Executive Committee convenes ad hoc committees to address special issues and appoints willing Senate members to serve on campus-wide committees.

     The Senate elects three new members to the Executive Committee each year – one from the professional-technical faculty, one from the academic faculty, and one from the Senate membership at large.  Their terms begin on the first day of January following their election.

2. The Rank Committee is comprised as specified in the Faculty Senate Constitution. At its last meeting of the academic year, the Rank Committee selects from itself a Chair to serve through the following academic year.

     The Senate elects three members to the Rank Committee in the first of two elections in each three-year period and two members in the second election of that three-year period.  Terms begin on the first day of August following the election.

3. The Senate elects two members to represent it on the Strategic Planning Committee – one academic and one professional-technical – every third year.  Terms begin on the first day of January following the election.

4. All elected committee members serve a three-year term.  There are no term limits.  Dismissal of any elected committee member requires the affirmative vote of a majority of the membership of the Senate.

5. Any newly-elected committee member shall be from the same faculty branch – professional-technical or academic – as that from which the departing member was originally elected.

Election Procedures
1.  Each year, the Executive Committee convenes a Nominating Committee of five members – two professional-technical faculty, two academic faculty and a member of the Executive Committee at large to serve as its Chair.  This committee identifies Senate members willing to serve on elected committees, and nominates them to fill positions being vacated in the normal course of the expiration of the terms of sitting members.  It also accepts nominations to these positions from the Senate membership at large.

2. The Nominating Committee produces a ballot listing the nominees for each elected position and providing for a write-in vote for each position. The slates of nominees for each committee are presented separately on the same ballot.

3. A secret ballot is made available to the Senate membership on the first Monday of December.  The tabulation of the vote is certified by the Chair of the Nominating Committee and the Secretary of the Executive Committee based on ballots received by the following Friday afternoon at 4 p.m.MST.  The time and location of this certification is communicated to the Senate membership on the ballot itself, and any Senate member may be present for the certification.  All ballots shall be preserved with the records of the Senate for at least three years.

4. All tie votes are decided by the toss of a coin by the Secretary of the Executive Committee or other Executive Committee member in the Secretary’s absence.

Untimely Vacancies
1. Any untimely vacancy within an elected committee shall be filled by the person receiving the next highest number of votes for that specific position (be it academic, professional-technical or at-large) on the original ballot.  In the event that no willing person can be so identified by the Executive Committee, that committee shall nominate willing Senate members of the appropriate faculty branch to the position, subject to election by the Senate by secret ballot at its next meeting.

2. Persons filling vacancies on any elected committee shall serve out the remainder of the term of the original occupant of the vacant position.

Meeting Quorum
1. Faculty Senate decisions shall be made by the affirmative vote of a simple majority (more than fifty percent) of those members present and voting at any regularly scheduled or properly announced Senate meeting.

     At least twenty-eight days shall elapse between the introduction of new business before the Senate and any final action on that business.  Suspension of this waiting period requires the affirmative vote of two-thirds of those members present and voting.

2. Decisions of any elected committee shall be made by a simple majority of its sitting membership voting at any regularly scheduled or properly announced meeting of the committee.

3. Parliamentary procedures as in Roberts Rules of Order shall be used for all Senate meetings.